Reduce demand: Join the library

I owned a Kindle for my train ride to work, but unfortunately it was trod on. I had to decide whether to buy a new one, or go back to a more dependable book.

There are opposing arguments for ebooks, see here. In the end, I decided to avoid all the discussions of ewaste, so I joined the library instead.

There are varying carbon footprint assessments for paperback books. 2.71kg CO2 for a book sold in America. I read a book a week on average, so by sharing my books in a library rather than buying, I could be saving 140kg of CO2 per year.

Joining the library  was just about the easiest process and extremely quick. It feels a little bit wrong that you can just take books after that, but there you are!

My first book was on topic…
The Zero-Waste Lifestyle: Live Well by Throwing Away Less

Libraries are such beautiful places. The library is also the only place in the whole city where everyone, of every walk of life, can be together, and happy. I could not recommend a nicer, low-carbon place to go in town. No need to consume goods, just the consumption of knowledge on whatever topic you like. Matilda was utterly correct. Thanks Roald Dahl.

Leave a Reply

